Do not even eat with such a one.

no-judgement-zone-desktop

1 Corinthians, Chapter 5 was part of my daily Bible reading today. The words spoke clearly what seems to be so misunderstood in the church today. I have written on this in the past (If you loved me, you would judge me.) so this will be short. Bunches of “Christians” seem to think it is inappropriate to judge. They could not be more wrong.  What they must do is learn how, whom, and when to judge. For those of you that are not Christians, you get a pass. Do what you will because we are not supposed to judge you, God will do that later. For those that profess to believe in the Creator God of the universe, read what Paul wrote in the New Testament:

I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral persons—not at all meaning the immoral of this world, or the greedy and robbers, or idolaters, since you would then need to go out of the world. But now I am writing to you not to associate with anyone who bears the name of brother or sister who is sexually immoral or greedy, or is an idolater, reviler, drunkard, or robber. Do not even eat with such a one. For what have I to do with judging those outside? Is it not those who are inside that you are to judge?  God will judge those outside.” Drive out the wicked person from among you.” 1 Corinthians 5:9-13

God cares what His people do. He also wants us to help one another live better lives, not only lives that please Him, but lives that make us better, more joyful people. And yes, we all sin and no, not all sins are equal, but if we, as Christians, live in habitual sin, unrepentant, we should be expelled from the church. Paul said it, not me. If you are a Christian and you gotta have your premarital sex, or your drunken good times, or your gay orgies, or fill in the blank, go do whatever you like, but take it out of the church, leave the church. Don’t put other Christians who chose to live according the other word of God in jeopardy. Leave. You are always welcome back when you choose to live in a way that would make Christ proud. Take some time to see what you like better, the world, or the church. In the end, you will be with one group or the other for a very, very long time.

This entry was posted in General Apologetics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do not even eat with such a one.

  1. Christi says:

    Good thoughts. I wish my church had adhered to this when they refused to deal with a stalker that had been harassing me for 3 years before she joined my church. Our elders basically through us under the bus in the name of “love,” because we need to not judge anyone. They refused to hear my experience with her or even be concerned with her lack of repentance.

    I wish I had thought about this verse. Needless to say, we are no longer there.

    Thank you.

    • Suthern says:

      Sorry to hear about that, Christi. But in the end I bet you found a better home (or will). Sometimes I wonder if we should stay in these liberal churches and try to educate them or just run and join folks who already get it. I left Toluca Lake United Methodist because the pastor didn’t believe the Bible was the inspired Word of God. She also cited numerous erroneous contradictions that a first year theology student could have schooled her on. I sometimes wonder if I should have stayed there and challenged her on a weekly basis.

Leave a Reply

